SHCFA County Cup semi-Final....
Wednesday 8th Mar 2017 (671 Views)

SWLFC Image

SHCFA County Cup Semi-Final: Sunday 12th March

Huddersfield Town Ladies v Sheffield Wednesday Ladies

Shelley Fc

Stafflex Arena

Storthes Hall Student Village,

Storthes Hall Lane,

Huddersfield

HD8 0WA

Kick Off: 2.00pm Admission: £3.00 includes programme and raffle.

 

This Sunday our 1st team travel to Shelley FC to face Huddersfield Town in the semi final of this years County Cup.

Huddersfield were last years losing finalists being beat eventually by Barnsley FC. They currently play their league football in the FA Women's Premier League - North, which is 3 divisions higher than our ladies and only one level behind the Women's Super League. They will go into the game as not only favourites to win but also favourites to win the whole competition.

On route to the semi they beat Dronfield FC 16-0 in the 3rd round entering at that stage due to being the highest seeded team in the competition. They then exceeded that with a 21-0 victory over Rovers Foundation in the quarter final.

Our Ladies entered at the first round stage and reached the semi by way of victories over Hepworth (8-0) Worksop Town (6-0) Huddersfield Town Reserves (4-0) and finally Harworth Ladies (7-2) in the quarter final. Although massive under dogs the team are having a great season and currently sit in 2nd spot in the NERWFL Southern division, They reached the FA Cup first round proper beating higher league teams and also still have a league cup quarter final to play.

Manager Dave Higgins comments: We are on a good run so far this season but this game will be without doubt our biggest test of the season. We only just have a full team available for the game and cannot call upon our Reserve or Development players has they have already been a part of the competition in the earlier rounds. The players have been super this season but will have to be at their best to compete with a very good, experienced Huddersfield team. As long as they enoy their day, give it their best then I will be happy whatever the result and with the magic of the cup who knows.....  

SWLFC Sports Club Logo

Other News

Junior Fundraising - Morrisons Bag Packing
Fri 19th Jan 18 (377 Views)


Happy New Year......
Thu 4th Jan 18 (36 Views)


Happy Christmas from all at SWLFC.......
Fri 22nd Dec 17 (55 Views)


Junior section Round Up: Sat 2nd Dec
Thu 7th Dec 17 (263 Views)


Junior Round Up: Saturday 26th November
Thu 30th Nov 17 (94 Views)


Junior Section Round Up: Sat 18th November
Thu 23rd Nov 17 (131 Views)


Junior Fixtures: Saturday 4th November "Bonfire weekend!
Sat 4th Nov 17 (179 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 21st October
Wed 25th Oct 17 (193 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 7th October........
Thu 12th Oct 17 (138 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 30th September
Mon 2nd Oct 17 (151 Views)


Sheffield Wednesday Football Club Wednesdayite Sheffield and Hallamshire Girls County League Sheffield and Hallamshire Womens County Football League North East Regional Womens Football League Sheffield and Hallamshire County FA Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Twitter Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Facebook Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Official Club Store Childline Logo NSPCC Logo

Sheffield Wednesday Ladies Football Club 2018
HelpWithIT