U13’s win Cup Final….. U18's losing finalists
Monday 10th Apr 2017 (413 Views)

SWLFC Image

U13’s win Cup Final….. U18's losing finalists

 

Success and heartbreak for our U13’s and U18’s in last weekend’s Sheffield & Hallamshire Girls County League Plate Finals.

Neal Docherty and Shaun Flint have had a great season with our U13’s. The girls were confirmed U13’s league champions two weeks ago and can now add 2017 Plate Champions to their list of successes.

They faced Doncaster Belles in the final after reaching the final by way of a bye in the first round followed with victories over Rotherham Whitehill (8-0) and an impressive 5-1 win over Barnsley in the semi-final. The final was a close game between two very good teams. The final score was 1-0 to the Owls with the Belles conceding an own goal that led to our girls lifting the trophy.

Manager Neal Docherty summed up the season: “Feeling a proud manager, a big thank you Shaun flint and also to all parents, grandparents with everyone contributing today, not our best performance against a well organised Donny Belles, but that's football! Brinsworth Whitehill gala winners, Handworths 6v6 runners up, the four counties FA cup runners up and U13's league champions & Plate finals U13 winners 2016 / 2017 It's not been a bad 10 months!”

 

Meanwhile our U18’s led by John Hammond and Gary Awdas also faced Doncaster Belles in their league seasons U18’s Plate final. They had reached the final by way of 5-1 win over Sheffield FC (Red) and a 2-1 semi-final win over Wickersley youth. It was not to be their day as they lost out 1-0 in a game where they looked the better team for long periods and also had what looked to be an equalising goal ruled out for off side late on in the game. Well done to all four teams involved in both games.

 

SWLFC Sports Club Logo

Other News

Junior Fundraising - Morrisons Bag Packing
Fri 19th Jan 18 (377 Views)


Happy New Year......
Thu 4th Jan 18 (36 Views)


Happy Christmas from all at SWLFC.......
Fri 22nd Dec 17 (55 Views)


Junior section Round Up: Sat 2nd Dec
Thu 7th Dec 17 (263 Views)


Junior Round Up: Saturday 26th November
Thu 30th Nov 17 (94 Views)


Junior Section Round Up: Sat 18th November
Thu 23rd Nov 17 (131 Views)


Junior Fixtures: Saturday 4th November "Bonfire weekend!
Sat 4th Nov 17 (179 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 21st October
Wed 25th Oct 17 (193 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 7th October........
Thu 12th Oct 17 (138 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 30th September
Mon 2nd Oct 17 (151 Views)


Sheffield Wednesday Football Club Wednesdayite Sheffield and Hallamshire Girls County League Sheffield and Hallamshire Womens County Football League North East Regional Womens Football League Sheffield and Hallamshire County FA Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Twitter Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Facebook Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Official Club Store Childline Logo NSPCC Logo

Sheffield Wednesday Ladies Football Club 2018
HelpWithIT