Home / Club News / Ladies qualify for Play Off Final.........

Ladies qualify for Play Off Final.........

SWLFC Image
Friday 12th May 2017 (715 Views)

Ladies qualify for play-off final…..

Last Sunday our First team comfirmed their place in the NERWFL Play-off final against Hartlepool LFC with the winners being promoted to the Premier division.

With just two league games left to play the ladies needed two wins to guarantee runners up spot and a play-off game against Hartlepool LFC who finished runners up in the Northern division.

They faced Hull based Malet Lambert in the final two fixtures, the away game was played on Sunday 30th April and after a tight first half which finished 2-2 our ladies ran out comfortable 7-3 winners following a great second half performance. This meant 3 points from the final game against Malet would be enough to clinch a place in the final. An early goal put the Owls in the driving seat before they increased the lead to 2-0 in the second half. Malet pulled a goal back which led to a nail biting end to the game but it finished 2-1, 3 points and a guaranteed play off final appearance.    

It’s been a long tough season for the squad with varying success in three cup competitions, including a semi-final in the County Cup, first round proper in the FA Cup and a league cup quarter final, meaning the team have played 30 games so far this season. From those games there have been 21 wins, 4 draws and 5 losses.

The final is this Sunday 14th May, 1pm kick off at 

Wilberfoss Sports Ground

Storking Lane

Wilberfoss

York

YO41 5ND

Share this ...

Other News

Junior Section Round Up: Sat 18th November
Thu 23rd Nov 17 @ 02:47:28 (37 Views)


Junior Fixtures: Saturday 4th November "Bonfire weekend!
Sat 4th Nov 17 @ 02:57:36 (75 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 21st October
Wed 25th Oct 17 @ 02:00:30 (105 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 7th October........
Thu 12th Oct 17 @ 23:53:01 (67 Views)


Junior Section Update: Saturday 30th September
Mon 2nd Oct 17 @ 23:47:06 (74 Views)


Weekend Round up: Sat/Sun 23rd/24th Sept
Fri 29th Sep 17 @ 00:28:00 (81 Views)


Junior Section Preview: Saturday 9th September
Fri 8th Sep 17 @ 21:25:04 (181 Views)


Trials training sessions..... Details!
Fri 2nd Jun 17 @ 00:15:53 (489 Views)


Junior section end of season round up….
Sat 6th May 17 @ 12:29:50 (447 Views)


Another big day for our U11's & U16's
Thu 27th Apr 17 @ 21:53:14 (395 Views)


Sheffield Wednesday Football Club Wednesdayite Sheffield and Hallamshire Girls County League Sheffield and Hallamshire Womens County Football League North East Regional Womens Football League Sheffield and Hallamshire County FA Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Twitter Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Facebook Page Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC Official Club Store

Sheffield Wednesday Ladies Football Club 2017
HelpWithIT